New Life Chapel

Where ALL are Welcome!

Mother’s Day 2010 Sermon

Today being a special day, we will be taking a break from the Primal series we have been working through. Today we will be focusing on mothers, and taking some time to honor them. We should take time to honor our mothers every day of the year, but today is a special day just for our moms. Honoring mothers is something we should take seriously. After all it is part of the 10 commandments, as seen in Exodus 20:12

12 “Honor your father and your mother, so that you may live long in the land the LORD your God is giving you” NIV

So with that we will take some time to honor mothers found throughout the Bible.

You know, mothers do a lot for us.
When we were kids our mothers prepared food for us to eat, they turned a house into a home, they mended our wounds, they consoled us when we faced disappointments, they cheered us on when we did something well, and perhaps the greatest contribution of all is that they instructed us about life.

Proverbs 6:20

“My son, keep your father’s commands and do not forsake your mother’s teaching.” NIV

Before we really get started I want to share something I came across that fits for Mother’s Day.
Here are a few things mama taught us: (Source Unknown.)
Mothers teach us about foresight: “Make sure you wear clean underwear in case you’re in an accident.”
Mothers teach us about logic: “If you fall out of that tree and break your neck, don’t come crying to me.”
Mothers teach us about maturity: “Eat your vegetables or you’ll never grow up.”
Mothers teach us about religion: “You better pray that comes out of the carpet.”
Mothers teach us about time travel: “If you don’t straighten up, I’m going to knock you into the middle of next week!”
Mothers teach us about contradictions: “Shut your mouth and eat your dinner!”
Mothers teach us about contortionism: “Will you look at the dirt on the back of your neck?”
Mothers teach us about perseverance: “You are going to sit here until you eat every last piece of that broccoli.”
Mothers teach us about genetics: “You’re just like your father.”
Mothers teach us about the weather: “It looks like a tornado swept through your room.”
Mothers teach us about the circle of life: “I brought you into this world, and I can take you out.”

The first Mother in the Bible I want to talk about can be found in Exodus.

Exodus 2:1-3

1 Now a man of the house of Levi married a Levite woman, 2 and she became pregnant and gave birth to a son. When she saw that he was a fine child, she hid him for three months. 3 But when she could hide him no longer, she got a papyrus basket for him and coated it with tar and pitch. Then she placed the child in it and put it among the reeds along the bank of the Nile.” NIV

When reading these verses what can we say about Moses’ mother, Jochebed?

First off, she was a woman who had faith in God. She believed beyond a shadow of a doubt that God would bless her efforts to protect her son. Jochebed believed that God would take her faithfulness and use Moses in some way. God rewarded that faithfulness.

Exodus 2:4-10

4 His sister stood at a distance to see what would happen to him.  5 Then Pharaoh’s daughter went down to the Nile to bathe, and her attendants were walking along the river bank. She saw the basket among the reeds and sent her slave girl to get it. 6 She opened it and saw the baby. He was crying, and she felt sorry for him. “This is one of the Hebrew babies,” she said.  7 Then his sister asked Pharaoh’s daughter, “Shall I go and get one of the Hebrew women to nurse the baby for you?”  8 “Yes, go,” she answered. And the girl went and got the baby’s mother. 9 Pharaoh’s daughter said to her, “Take this baby and nurse him for me, and I will pay you.” So the woman took the baby and nursed him. 10 When the child grew older, she took him to Pharaoh’s daughter and he became her son. She named him Moses, saying, “I drew him out of the water.” NIV

God blessed Jochebed’s faithfulness. God arranged for Moses to live and then allowed her to raise Moses for the first 5-10 years of his life. Jochebed was able to use this time to teach Moses about God and live out her faith before him. I believe this had a huge impact on Moses and is part of the reason why he made the choices he did later and life, and why he was used by God to free the Hebrew people.

The second thing we see about Jochebed in these verses is that she was willing to sacrifice for her child. Basically she risked everything to protect her child. Pharaoh had issued an edict saying that all male Hebrew children were to be killed. She was defying Pharaoh. If she had been caught hiding Moses, there is a good chance she would have been thrown into prison or even killed on the spot. She believed that protecting her child was the right thing to do.

Due to her faith in God and her efforts to protect her child, Jochebed deserves to be honored.

Any mother who makes decisions about their children based on faith, instead of the world deserves to be honored. Any mother who protects their child deserves to be honored.

In 1st Samuel we find another great example of mother worth honoring today. Hannah was a woman who was without child and her husband’s other wife had many children. Hannah really struggled with this, and her heart’s desire was to have a son. What did Hannah do? She prayed, she laid it all out before the Lord.

1 Samuel 1:10

10 In bitterness of soul Hannah wept much and prayed to the LORD.” NIV

In verse 15 it says “I was pouring out my soul to the Lord.” NIV

In verse 16 we read “I have been praying here out of my great anguish and grief.” NIV

Hannah knew what it meant to pray. From her perspective she thought all was lost, she was wondering if she would every have a child. She did not become bitter and give up, she prayed. She understood the power of prayer. God heard her prayers and granted her a son, Samuel. Now scripture does not tell us if she continued praying for Samuel for the rest of her life, but I would be willing to bet she did. Hannah knew that prayer worked, she understood the value of it. She probably prayed for her son Samuel everyday for the rest of her life. Hannah deserves to be honored for being a mother who prayed for her children. Any mother who spends time praying for her children, whether it is for protection, provision, or for them to come back to the Lord, deserves to be honored.

Today being Mother’s day we need to remember and honor our mothers. Our mothers do many, many things for us. Some things seem simple like making our lunches, doing our laundry, and other mundane tasks. Others things are more profound and we can see how our mothers sacrificed for us, provided for our needs, and prayed for us.

My mother is back in California this morning, but I can tell you that she protected me from things I am still just learning about. She sacrificed for me, even to the point of going hungry herself at times. And I know for a fact that she prayed for me on many occasions, hoping I would turn my life around. My mother deserves to be honored everyday of her life for what she has done for me, but I especially want to honor her today.  

George Washington said, “I am what I am because of my mother!”

I agree with George Washington completely. I am who I am because of my mother. She taught me right from wrong, she encouraged me to be successful, and she supported me in my Christian walk. Besides telling my mother how much I appreciate her, one of the best ways I can honor her is by being the best son that I can be. By being a good man and a loving husband and father, I honor my mother.

I encourage each of you to honor your mothers today and every day. Whether our mothers are still with us on earth or have moved on. Whether we remember more of the good or the bad, we should still honor them. The best way can honor them is to live our lives as best as we can. Remember that we are who we are thanks to them.

Happy Mother’s Day!

Thanks for reading and look for the audio file to be posted soon.

God Bless,

Pastor Robert

May 9, 2010 - Posted by | Sermon

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

